PSC Calls For Greater Dedication As It Deploys12 State Commands’ Police Commissioners

By Frank Oshanugor

Sequel to the recent promotion of some State Commands’ police commissioners to the rank of Assistant Inspector General of Police (AIG) the Police Service Commission (PSC) has approved the appointment of 12 Commissioners of Police to different State Commands in the Country.

The new Commissioners of Police include Mohammed Usaini Gumel, posted to Kano State Command; Haruna Gabriel Garba; Federal Capital Territory, FCT Command Abuja; Tajudeen A. Abass; Delta State Command; Oladimeji Yomi Olarewaju; Ogun State Command; Taiwo Jesubiyi; Ondo state Command; and Julius A. Okoro; Benue State Command.

Others are; Romokere Ibiani; Bayelsa state Command; Mohammed Bunu; Yobe State Command; Garba Musa Yusuf; Kaduna state Command; Garba Ahmed; Zamfara state Command; Hayatu Kaigama Ali; Sokoto State Command and Aliyu Musa, Katsina State Command.

In a statement on Tuesday announcing the deployment, spokesman of the Commission, Ikechukwu Ani said Chairman of the Commission, Dr. Solomon Arase has called for greater dedication to national duty from the new State Command Commissioners.

The statement quoting Arase as saying the new posting came with a lot of commitment and innovativeness and has subsequently demanded of them total loyalty to the Nigerian nation.

The PSC boss noted that at this national transition period, the new State Command Commissioners must brace up for challenges in the course of their duties adding that they should quickly settle down to duty and tackle the security challenges in their respective states of posting.

According to the former Inspector General of Police, the Commission would monitor their stewardship in their various State Commands and ensure that they do not derail from established rules and regulations.

He wished them well and promised the Commission’s support at all times.

Written by: Frank Oshanugor

Leave a Reply