PSC Appoints Bode Adeleke, Two Others As DIGs, Suspends Promotion Of Some CPs, DCPs

By Frank Oshanugor

The Police Service Commission(PSC) has approved the appointment of three Assistant Inspectors General of Police to the rank of Deputy Inspectors General of Police.

They include Bode Adeyinka Adeleke currently serving as AIG Zone Two Lagos, Inuwa Mohammed Hafiz, serving as Force Secretary and Janga Ali Aji.

In a statement on Sunday, the Commission’s spokesman Ikechukwu Ani said the new DIGs are expected to fill the vacant duty posts created due to the retirements of three DIGs representing the North Central, North East and North West geopolitical zones.

The approval of the appointments of the new DIGs has also ensured that the defined succession policy in the Nigeria Police is sustained.

AIG Hafiz Mohammed Inuwa, the Force Secretary, will be replacing retired DIG Mustapha Dan- Daura for the North West slot. DIG Dan- Daura retired on the 15th of January this year. AIG Aji Ali Janga from North East will replace DIG Zanna Mohammed Ibrahim who retired on the 26th of November 2022, while AIG Adeleke Adeyinka Bode of North Central will replace DIG Sanusi Lemu who retired on the 31st of January this year.

According to the statement which was made available to AtlanticNewsonline the new appointments were part of the decisions of the reconvened 18th Plenary Meeting of the Commission which held in Abuja on Thursday, 2nd and Friday 3rd February, 2023 and chaired by Justice Clara Bata Ogunbiyi the acting Chairman of the Commission.

The statement added the PSC suspended the promotion of eight Commissioners of Police to the rank of Assistant Inspectors General and eleven Deputy Commissioners of Police to the next rank of Commissioners due to their failure to appear before it for the mandatory promotion interview.

The Commission had sent invitations to the Officers to appear before it for the usual interaction to ascertain their suitability and capability for the new Offices but they failed appear for the interview.

It was gathered that members the Commission were surprised with the failure of the officers to avail themselves the opportunity of being elevated.

The Commission has however, approved the promotion of ten Assistant Commissioners of Police to the next rank of Deputy Commissioners; 17 Chief Superintendents of Police to Assistant Commissioners and 301 Superintendents of Police to Chief Superintendents.
47 skipped Deputy Superintendents of Police from previous recommendations to the Commission were also promoted to Superintendents of Police while 665 Assistant Superintendents of Police were promoted to Deputy Superintendents of Police.

The recommendations for ACP Nwamanna Nelson , SP Iliyas Casmir and SP Alheri Mamman were also endorsed and the Officers promoted to their next ranks after they were absolved of any Pending Disciplinary Matter (PDM).

Justice Ogunbiyi charged the newly promoted Officers to give their best in the service of their nation especially now that Nigeria will be going to the polls to elect new leaders.

She congratulated and wished the Officers success in their new ranks.

Written by: Frank Oshanugor

Leave a Reply