At Last, Senate Confirms Lauretta Onochie As Substantive Chairman Of NDDC Board


NDDC Boss Lauretta Onochie

By Frank Oshanugor

Nigeria’s upper legislative Chambers, the Senate on Tuesday confirmed the appointment of Miss Lauretta Onochie as the substantive Chairman of the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC).

With this, all criticisms trailing her nomination since last month when President Muhammadu Buhari submitted her name along with other members of the Board, have been put to rest.

The NDDC new boss has been the President’s Special Assistant on New Media whose loyalty has remained unquestionable over the years.

The Senate at the plenary also confirmed 12 others following the screening of the nominees conducted last Friday at the National Assembly complex.

President Muhammadu Buhari had requested the Senate to confirm the appointment of Lauretta Ifeanyi-Onochie as the substantive Chairman of the Board of the Niger Delta Development Commission, a development that drew applause and condemnation in some quarters.

Buhari had also named 14 others in the letter as Managing Director, Executive Directors and members of the Board.

They include Samuel Ogbokwu, from Bayelsa State, as the Managing Director, who would serve for a term of two years to complete the term of his predecessor in office.

The list also included Dimgba Erugba, representing Abia State, Dr. Emem Willcox Wills ( Akwa Ibom), Elder Denyanbofa Dimaro (Bayelsa State), Hon. Orok Duke (Cross River) and Dr. Pius Odudu ( Edo State).

Engineer Anthony Ekenne, (Imo State), Hon. Gbenga Edema (Ondo State), Elekwachi Dimkpa (Rivers State), Alhaji Mohammed Kabir Abubakar, ( Nasarawa State, representing North-Cenral zone), Alhaji Sadiq Sami Sule – Ikoh ( Kebbi State, North-West) and Prof. Tahir Mamman SAN, (Adamawa State, North-East).

The President also nominated Major-General Charles Airhiavbere (rtd) from Edo State as the (Executive Director, Finance) and Charles Ogunmola, from Ondo State, as the Executive Director, Projects also made the lists of appointees for the NDDC.

Written by: Frank Oshanugor

Leave a Reply

1 Comment