We Will Support Any Delta Central Aspirant Chosen By Okowa For 2023 Governorship, Says DC-23

By Sunday Apah 

The Delta Central 2023 (DC-23) lobby group has agreed to support any governorship aspirant of Delta Central extraction chosen by Governor Ifeanyi Okowa in the 2023 Governorship election.

National Chairman of DC-23, Senator (Chief) Ighoyota Amori, who made this known during a consultative visit to leaders and members of the PDP in Ika South Local Government Area of the state, said “presently, the group is not lobbying or campaigning for any particular aspirant, but to ensure that the governorship seat moves to Delta Central Senatorial District in 2023.”

He explained that the DC-23 is a lobby group made up of card carrying members of the PDP in the Delta Central Senatorial District to lobby support for the governorship seat for the district in 2023.

He noted that the DC-23 was not different from the G-3 of the Delta South Senatorial District that was formed to drive the process of election of the immediate past governor of the state, Dr. Emmanuel Uduaghan, and the Anioma Agenda that was formed in 2014 to propel the process of election of the current governor of the state, Senator (Dr.) Ifeanyi Okowa.

According to him, “those who want to contest against the aspirants of Delta Central Senatorial district have their argument for the governorship seat, likewise us, but we can’t talk of zoning on ethnic lines because the state is made up of various ethnic groups like Urhobo, Ijaw, Itsekiri, Isoko, Ika, Ndokwa, Oshimili, Aniocha and few others; hence, the appeal from us to maintain the zoning arrangement on the basis of  senatorial districts in the state.”

“It is only zoning on senatorial district order that the PDP can continue with its winning streak in the state. So, we want to establish a sustainable system where when it gets to the turn of your senatorial district, no one from other senatorial districts will contest against the benefitting district. So, the argument that Urhobo or other ethnic groups contested during the turn of other senatorial districts will no longer be there,” he added.

He appealed to PDP leaders of Ika South Local Government Area to support the DC-23 push for zoning arrangement on senatorial districts to enhance the chances of the PDP continuing in the governance of the state beyond 2023.

In his response, Chairman of the People’s Democratic Party in Ika South Local Government Area, Hon. Jude Onya, said that the considering power of the party in the local government area rested with Governor Okowa, stressing that “It is whatever instruction he gives that we will follow.”

He said that after the emergence of the PDP candidate, they would work to ensure that the governor’s instruction was carried out.

According to him, “Okowa has won the heart of the people of Ika South Local Government Area and since he has done so, it is whatever he directs that we will follow.”

“We, the PDP in Ika South are united. If you know what PDP suffered in Edo State because of going against party and leaders directives, you won’t believe it. It was PDP that worked against themselves in that election. So, we are going to be united here and make sure we win all our elections,” he added. 

Those that received DC-23 leaders and stakeholders included Hon. Jude Onya, Engr. Noel Omodion, Chief Philip Igumbor, Hon. Sunny Ogwu, Hon. Collins Bello, Gen. Nick Agbogun (rtd), Chief (Dr) Isioma Okonta, Hon. Cordilia Anyangwu, Sir. Sam Nwa-Igumbor, Dr. Emmanuel Tibi, Dr. Chukwuma Nwaonicha, Mrs. Ogbonyeri Cecilia, Admiral Peter Eluma (rtd), Prof. J. E. Alika, Chief Philip Okwada and a host of others.

While leaders and members of DC-23 that went for the visit included Chief Ighoyota Amori, Williams Etubiebi Esq., Chairman BoT, Olorogun Bernard Edewor, Deputy Chairman, BoT, Dr. Chris Oharisi, National Secretary, Olorogun Taleb Tebite, National Financial Secretary, Olorogun Barr Arthur Akpowowo, National Publicity Secretary.

Others were Chief Christian Onogba, Assistant National Organising Secretary; Hon. Godwin Atose, National Organising Secretary, Hon. (Chief) Sunday Apah, Assistant National Publicity Secretary; Hon. Festus Pemu, Assistant National Publicity Secretary; Engr. Matthew Tsekiri, Assistant National Secretary, Deacon Raymond Edijala, Assistant National Treasurer, Mr. Austin Opubor, National Welfare Officer, Mrs. Philo Ededey, Assistant National Welfare Officer, Ms. Elohor Urhobe, Assistant National Women Leader.

Others were Chief Ejaife Odebala, former member of the Delta State House of Assembly; Chief A. K Osawota, Chief Mrs. Margret Unukegwo, Engr. Eric Osiobe, Hon. Onoriode Ishegbe, Mr. Godfrey Etabuko, Ms. Noreen Ughojor, Chief Solomon Oturu, Chief Collins Eboh, Mr. Benjamin Ogbimi, Hon. Emmanuel Oghomienor, Mr. Okoh James Edirin, Chief Lucky Emojeya, Chief Moses Orhokpor, Chief Bestman Itive, David Ejukonemu, Lucky Esokpor, Chief Syvester Akpodiete, Onogbo Francis, Mr. Emmanuel Ishaka, Chief Friday Orugbo, Hon. Wilson Agbure, Chief Michael Akpobasa, Eruke Asore, Efe Edewor, Chief Mrs. Jegede-Ikpen, Chief London Akpanoko, Chief Lucky Emojeya, Chief Abraham Ojighoro, Chief Iroro Oyearone-Maidoh Ese Omamogho, Hon. Ejiro Wilson-Eghrudje, Onome Okoroh, Mrs. Abigail Eduvie.

The representatives of Olorogun Kenneth Okpara, Rt. Hon. Festus Ovie Agas, Olorogun David Edevbie, Senator Emmanuel Aguariavwodo, Chief James Augoye, Olorogun Kenneth Gbagi, Rt. Hon. Sheriff Oborevwori, Chief Abel Esievo and a host of others were also in attendance.

Written by: Frank Oshanugor

Leave a Reply