Police Ex-Spokesman Frank Mba Now DIG, 14 CPs Become AIG

DIG Frank Mba

By Frank Oshanugor

In what seems to be the work of a benevolent spirit, a three-time Force Public Relations Officer, Frank Mba who was promoted to the rank of Assistant Inspector General of Police (AIG) less than six months ago has now become a Deputy Inspector General of Police (DIG).

In a statement on Friday, spokesman of the Police Service Commission (PSC) Ikechukwu Ani said the Commission has approved the appointment of AIGs Frank Mba and Bala Ciroma as Deputy Inspectors General of Police.

With the promotion DIG Ciroma will replace DIG Ali Janga who has retired from Service and had represented the North East geo-political zone in the Police Management team. DIG Ciroma, the most senior Officer from the zone will henceforth represent the zone while DIG Mba will represent the South East zone and replace retired DIG John Amadi who before his retirement represented the zone.

The Commission also approved the promotion of 14 Commissioners of Police to the next rank of Assistant Inspectors General of Police and 22 Deputy Commissioners of Police to the substantive rank of Commissioners .
According to the statement, “these decisions were highpoints of the 21st Plenary Meeting of the Commission presided over by its Chairman, Dr. Solomon Arase, (a retired Inspector General of Police) and attended by all the Members of the Commission including the Permanent Secretary/ Secretary to the Commission, Dr. (Mrs) Ifeoma Adaora Anyanwutaku.

The new AIGs are Commissioners of Police Abubakar Lawal; Alhassan Aminu; Abdul Umar; Shettima Zannah; Ebong Eyibio Ebong; Adepoju Ayiinde Ilori and Okon Okon Effiong.

Others are; Echeng Eworo Echeng; Susan Ukpanukiema Horsfall; Bankole Lanre Sikiru; Oladimeji Yomi Olarewaju; Sani Gwarzo and Odama Paul Ojeka.

The 22 Deputy Commissioners of Police promoted to the rank of Commissioners are Abibo Deinma Reuben; Thomas Abraham Nabhoni; Wakil Abdul Salamai; Enyinnaya Inonachi; Ronke Nurat Okunade; Adekunle Ismail Olusokan; Hassan Abdu Yabnet; Festus Chinedu Oko; Aminu Baba Raji; Omolara Ibidun Oluntola; Akoh Benedict Gabriel; Alamutu Abiodun Mustapha; Bafda Magaji Jahun, Ahmadu Tijani Abdullahi; and Mohamned Mu’azu.

Others are, Bretet Emmanuel Simon; Ihebom M. Chukuma; Shettima Mohamned Qurtu; Olatokunbo Maxwell Olabisi; Yusuf Mohammed Lawal; Monica Leo and Abaniwonda Surajudeen Olufemi.

The Commission also approved the promotion of twenty four Assistant Commissioners of Police to the next rank of Deputy Commissioners. They include, Ezekiel Ibrahim, Project Monitoring Unit, Force Headquarters, Abuja; Mohammed Shamsudeen, Assistant Director, OPS, Kaduna (NCCSALW); Khan Salihu Usman, Networking Admin ICT FHQ, Abuja; Wan Mantu Chongs, Commander PMF 19 Portharcourt; Baba Lawan Audu, Area Commander, Exeter Akwa-Ibom State Command; Okon Etim Asuquo, Department of Operations, Benue State Command; Louis Chike Nwabuwa, Department of Operations, Plateau State Command; Samuel Osman Onoja, Police College Oji River; Sa’ad Yahaya and ACP Ibrahim Jibrin, Commanders 76 PMF, Nsukka and 56 PMF Ogoni amongst others.

The Commission also approved the promotion of 39 Chief Superintendents of Police to Assistant Commissioners of Police. They include, CSPs Joseph Udoh; Nze Helen Omeba; Uduaku Isaac Udom; Anthony Francis Etim; Benjamin Kelembus Bello; Abdullahi Idris Abubakar; Ogbonnaya Nwota and Daiyabu Mohammed Ahmed among others. It also approved the acting appointment of CSP Akande Bamidele to acting Assistant Commissioner of Police.
The two AIG’s, 14 CP’s and 22 Deputy Commissioners of Police appeared before the Commission in Plenary for an interactive session, a requirement for their new ranks.

The Plenary Meeting also approved a new Instrument of Delegation on delegated powers to the Inspector General of Police.

Meanwhile, Chairman of the Commission, Solomon Arase has congratulated the newly promoted Officers and charged them to reciprocate the Commission’s good gesture by rededicating themselves to the service of their fatherland. He promised to ensure that Police Promotions will be regular so that Officers are not allowed to stagnate in any rank.

The PSC boss commended other members of the Commission for their dedication and sacrifice stressing that a new and brighter future “is here for the Nigeria Police Force”.

Written by: Frank Oshanugor

Leave a Reply