Ekong Takes Over As Lagos Labour Party Chairman

Lagos LP Chairman, Mrs Dayo Ekong

By Frank Oshanugor

The National Legal Adviser of Labour Party, Mr. Akingbade Oyelekan, said there is no faction in Lagos State Chapter of the Party and called on security agencies to go after any person or group of persons parading themselves as factional leaders of the party in the state.

Oyelekan made the call during the inauguration of the newly constituted 25-man Caretaker Committee to steer the affairs of the party in Lagos State at the state Secretariat on Wednesday.

Oyelekan said the newly inaugurated Exco led by Pastor Dayo Ekong is gender sensitive, all inclusive and duly approved by the National Working Committee (NWC) of the party led by Mr. Julius Abure.

He said Pastor Dayo Ekong led Exco is the authentic executive of the party in Lagos State, while calling on members of the public to disregard any other form of faction(s), which of course does not exist anymore in the party.

Olelekan further affirmed that Lagos State is the strong base of the party hence the need to harmonize the affairs of the party in the state.

He said the party reposed huge confidence in the Pastor Dayo Ekong led-committee and charged them to go and work to deliver Lagos State 100%.

Other committee members administered oath of allegiance were Chief Sam Okpala (Secretary), Pastor Lanre Adenuga and Dr Olatunbosun Oswald (Deputy Chairmen) while the Zonal Deputy Chairmen are Mr. Igene Ayere, Pastor Funke Awolowo, Mr. Dauda Yusuf, and Mr. Tony Masha.

Others are Folakemi Collins (Assistant Secretary), Adejoke Adejumo (Assistant Secretary), Lady Jennifer Ukaci (Treasurer), Lady Chinwe Chinwego (Financial Secretary), Olubunmi Odesanya (Publicity Secretary), Dave Agwazim (Assistant Publicity Secretary) and Comrade Laura Tolulope Ogunsola (Organizing Secretary).

Ebuka Morah (Auditor), Barr. Abass Ibrahim (Legal Adviser), Hajia Amina Agnes Usman (Woman Leader), Mrs. Olabisi Osungboye, Comrade Toyin Shokunmbi and Jane Chidinma Nwaoguala (Woman Leaders), Okubena Abiodun (Youth Leader), Mary Patience Zibili, Osita Joseph and Hon. Pius Omodaratan (Assistant Youth Leaders), completed the list.

While charging members of the committee to provide effective leadership to ensure growth and development of the party, Oyelekan said their inauguration became imperative after the expiration of the tenure of the former caretaker committee and the need to urgently reposition the party for effective service as the election approaches.

In her remarks Pastor Dayo Ekong, appreciated the National Working Committee of her party for finding her and her team worthy of the tasks ahead.

Ekong said. “I want to assure you that peace will reign in Lagos Labour Party. We are ready to work and our work will speak for us, and this will lead us to victory for our Presidential Candidate, Mr. Peter Obi, our governorship candidate in the state, Arch. Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivor and other candidates and they will be sworn-in come May 29th.

Ekong further said that when Labour Party takes over the leadership in Nigeria, the country will work as a country where mama, papa, and pikin will go to bed with their eyes closed.

She promised the youths of their pride of place in the LP led government come May 29 and that the ‘japa’ syndrome will become history.

Ekong finally implore Nigerians to vote for LP and be guaranteed of a peaceful society where everybody will be proud to associate with.

Written by: Frank Oshanugor

Leave a Reply